Faculty of Financial Studies


The defunct Faculty of Management Studies (FMS) was the largest Faculty in Osun State Polytechnic having the under listed Departments:
1. Accountancy
2. Banking and Finance
3. Business Administration and Management
4. General Studies
5. Marketing and Purchasing & Supply
6. Mass Communication
7. Secretariat Studies
But due to an upsurge precisely in 2000/2001 academic session in students population which consequently slowed down day to day administration of the Faculty, Management decided to break the Faculty into two (2) in 2003/2004 academic session.
Faculty of financial Studies (FFS) was created and carved out of the Faculty of Management Studies (FMS) in 2003/2004 academic session to expand academic knowledge of students of Accountancy and Banking & Finance professionally and academically. Three departments were created then as follows: Accountancy, Banking & Finance and General Studies.
Our mission is to be among the leaders not in Nigeria alone, but in the whole of Africa in Financial Education by achieving the highest standards in scholarly research and by communicating this knowledge to successive generations through excellence in teaching and research. In the year 2019, the Department of General Studies was carved out of the Faculty of Financial Studies to form the Directorate of General Studies. Presently there are two departments in the faculty namely: ACCOUNTANCY and BANKING & FINANCE.
The pioneering mantle of headship fell on Chief T. A. Ibitoye of Banking and Finance Department as the Dean being the most senior lecturer at the time the faculty was created. May the soul of Chief Ibitoye rest in perfect peace. On his elevation to the post of Acting Rector of the Institution, Dr. Olaniran, a Senior Principal Lecturer of the same Department became the Dean of the faculty in 2005.
History cannot be completed without mentioning the pioneering staff of the Faculty: Mr. O. Ayinde, the Faculty Officer, Mrs. .A.A.Popoola, Chief Typist and Secretary to the Dean, Mr. T.Y. Adiat (Assistant Faculty Officer) and Mr. A .A Adeyemi (Higher Executive Officer). Faculty is headed by the Dean and with the assistance of Heads of Departments (HOD) and the Faculty Officer for the day to day running of the Faculty. The Dean is an Academic Staff member elected by the Academic members of staff in the Faculty. While the appointment of the Head of Department (HOD) is based on recommendation by the Dean of the Faculty to the Rector.
HOD: The HOD is responsible for the day to day running of the department. The two HODs are Mrs. Togun Olaroyeke Ranti (Accountancy) and Mr. Adekanye Taiwo (Banking and Finance)
Faculty Officer: Mr. Adeyanju Tunji (Faculty officer) is the representative of the Registrar in the faculty. He is the head of non-teaching staff in the faculty. He assists the Dean to oversee the administration of the faculty.


Pioneer DeanChief Timothy Ademola Ibitoye2003 to 2005Banking and Finance
Second DeanDr. Olaniran Olawoye2005 to 2012Banking and Finance
Third DeanDr. Adewoyin Azeez Olakunle2012 to 2016Banking and Finance
Fourth DeanDr. Olaleye. Michael OlugbengaJanuary 2017 till dateAccountancy

The two term tenure of Dr. Olaleye. M.O. will end in January 2021.


1. Dr. M.O. Olaleye – Chairman
2. Dr. O. Olaniran – Member
3. Dr. T.A. Odetayo – “
4. Dr. A.Z. Solomon – “
5. Dr. A.O.Adewoyin – “
6. Dr. E.G. Olamide – “
7. Dr. M. O. Omotoso – “
8. Dr. O.A.Ajayi –
9. Mr. O.M. Oyinlola – “
10. Mrs. O.R. Togun – “
11. Mr. T. Adekanye – “
12. Mr. L.O. Adedeji – “
13. Mr. T. Adeyanju – Secretary


1) Accountancy Department
2) Banking & Finance Department


1Mr. T .Adeyanju2003 to 2005Faculty Officer
2Mrs. M.O.AdebayoO’ Level, Professional Certificate and Diploma in ComputerChief Secretarial Assistant
3Mr. O.K .AjeigbeB.Ed. (Hon) Guidance & CounselingPrincipal Executive Officer
4Mrs. B.M .OnaolapoHND Business AdministrationPrincipal Executive Officer
5Mr. R. AbidoyeO’ Level CertificateChief Clerical Officer

Dr . M.O. Olaleye

Dean FFS

Mr . T. Adeyanju

Faculty Officer